Why can’t I delete a given account?
When you delete an account all of the transactions associated with it will also be deleted, losing all the history for that account. This is the natural and expected action.
There is however an exception. If you delete an account that has transaction transfers to other accounts, those transactions would be lost resulting in data inconsistencies, incorrect balances and reports.
Imagine you had transferred 200$ from account A to account B. Account B now has 200$ more. If you delete account A, this transactions transfer will also be deleted and account B balance will have less 200$, which is incorrect.
To prevent this problem, when deleting an account with transfer transactions, you should find those transactions and either:
- Remove each and everyone of them, knowing that this will result in a balance update on destination accounts.
- Or edit each and everyone of them, converting them trom transfers to expense or income in your transfer destination account. This will ensure data consistency and correct accounts balance.
As soon as a transaction has no transfers it can be deleted.